FCC Forms Open Internet Advisory Committee

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has formed an "Open Internet" committee to evaluate the agency's net neutrality rules. The committee was part of the rules that the FCC passed in late 2010 and later implemented in 2011. 

The Open Internet Advisory Committee will be led by Jonathan Zittrain, co-founder of the Berman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard. He is also a respected professor of law and computer sciences. The advisory committee will feature Charles Slocum, assistant executive director of the WGAW; Neil Hunt, chief product officer of Netflix; Kevin McElearney, senior VP for network engineering at Comcast; and Elaine Paul, senior VP of strategic planning at Disney.

Hopefully this committee will take a close look at the process of traffic manipulation and broadband caps. No doubt Netflix will want to tackle both of these burning issues…

Source: Variety

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditEmail this to someone