Skyrim Wins Big at Golden Joystick Awards

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim was the big winner of this year's Golden Joystick Awards, winning the ultimate game of the year award and top gaming moment award for its Throat of the World scene and best RPG. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim beat out the likes of Modern Warfare 3, Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3 to earn the top prize.

Other big winners included Batman Arkham City (Action/adventure), Battlefield 3 (shooter), Angry Birds Space (mobile/tablet) and Forza 4 (racing). Grand Theft Auto 5, won in the "one to watch" category, while EA Sports' FIFA series won the outstanding contribution award.

The awards, which took place at a gala event in central London, were hosted by comedian and gamer Ed Byrne, and were voted on by gamers. The full list of winners can be found below:

Ultimate game of the year: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Top gaming moment: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Throat of the World

RPG: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Outstanding contribution: EA Sports' FIFA

Racing: Forza 4

One to watch: Grand Theft Auto 5

Action/adventure game: Batman Arkham City

Sports game: FIFA 12

Shooter: Battlefield 3

YouTube gamer award: Yogscast

Mobile/tablet game: Angry Birds Space

MMO: World of Tanks

Hand-held game: Uncharted: Golden Abyss

Strategy: Civilization 5: Gods & Kings

Downloadable: Minecraft (360)

Fighting: Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

DLC: Portal 2's Perpetual Testing Initiative

Browser-based/flash: Slender

Source: BBC

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditEmail this to someone