EFF Announces 2013 Pioneer Award Winners

The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) announced the winners of the 2013 Pioneer Awards. This year's winners include late digital rights activist Aaron Swartz, international access to knowledge advocate James Love, and journalists Glenn Greenwald and Laura Poitras – who broke the story about Edward Snowden and the U.S. National Security Agency's overbroad spying activities.

The award ceremony will be held the evening of September 19 at the Lodge at the Regency Center in San Francisco. Academic, author, and activist Professor Lawrence Lessig will be the keynote speaker at the event.

EFF Legal Director Cindy Cohn said that the organization chose Aaron Swartz in particular this year (he has received the honor in the past) for all the work he has done in the past to build "a better future for the Internet and digital rights." She also said "All of EFF is heartbroken at his passing and that we didn't seize the opportunity to give Aaron this honor while he was still with us."

Swartz died in New York City in January as he faced trial on charges he hacked into a Massachusetts Institute of Technology archive of scholarly articles with the aim of making them freely available.

"What all of this year's Pioneer Award winners have in common is the desire to democratize the flow of information, and they have all made the world a better, fairer place through their tireless efforts," said EFF Executive Director Shari Steele. "We are so proud to be able to honor them and their extraordinary achievements at the ceremony on September 19th."

Tickets to the Pioneer Awards are available at $65 for EFF members and $75 for non-members. Tickets are also available to a special advance reception featuring past and present Pioneer Award winners, special guests, and keynoter Lawrence Lessig. You can find out more ticketing information here.


Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditEmail this to someone