Critical Hit: Volume One Album Shipping Oct. 31

Today is the day that the world is introduced to Critical Hit, an all-star cover band led by composer Jason Hayes. Hayes is best known for his work on the World of Warcraft soundtrack, and he is joined by performers and recording artists with an amazing list of
(video game, film, and live performance) credits, including The Annual Primetime Emmy's, Cirque Du Soleil, American Idol, and more. Critical Hit announced that their debut album, Critical Hit: Volume One, will be released at the end of this month, along with the release their debut music video featuring the main theme of Angry Birds – which you can check out to your left.

Critical Hit: Volume One will ship on October 31, featuring 12 reimagined tracks from such games as World of Warcraft, Super Mario World, The Legend of Zelda, The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, Halo, Final Fantasy, Call of Duty, Metal Gear Solid. These tracks are a mix of musical styles from rock to classical and beyond.

Musicians Hall of Fame inductee David Frank Paich, pianist of the legendary band Toto and co-writer on hit titles Africa, Rosanna, and Hold the Line, is featured also on the album.

"Playing in bands was a big part of my life before I became a full-time composer," comments Critical Hit founder Jason Hayes, "so it's awesome to be able to return to live performance, while exploring my favorite videogame themes with such amazing and accomplished musician friends. The best part is connecting with people who are as passionate about videogame music as I am."

The full track listing for Critical Hit: Volume One are:

01. Tetris: "Main Theme"

02. Angry Birds: "Main Theme" (featured in the video)

03. World of Warcraft: "Legends of Azeroth"

04. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time: "Zelda's Lullaby"

05. Halo 2: "Main Theme"

06. Pokémon: "Main Theme"

07. Super Mario World: "Bowser's Castle"

08. Final Fantasy X: "To Zanarkand"

09. Kingdom Hearts: "Hikari"

10. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: "Battle for New York"

11. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: "Streets of Whiterun"

12. Metal Gear Solid 2: "Main Theme"

For more information on the album and for upcoming concert dates, visit

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditEmail this to someone