'Last of Us' and 'Papers, Please' Win Big at GDC Awards

March 20, 2014 - GamePolitics Staff

It should come as no surprise that Naughty Dog's award-winning PS3-exclusive game The Last of Us has won some more awards. At last night's Game Developers Choice Awards, it was awarded Game of the Year. The 14th annual Game Developers Choice Awards ceremony took place last night during the 2014 Game Developers Conference at the Moscone Center in San Francisco. The Last of Us was also honored with Best Design and Best Narrative Awards during the event, which was emcee'd by popular PR veteran and marketing genius Abbie Heppe.

Irrational Games' BioShock Infinite won awards for Best Audio and Best Visual Art, while Lucas Pope's Papers, Please won the Innovation Award and the honor for Best Downloadable Game. It also won several awards during the IGF Awards ceremony earlier in the evening.

Other winners included The Fullbright Company, creators of the interactive narrative adventure Gone Home; The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds was honored as the Best Handheld Game; Grand Theft Auto V, won the award for Best Technology; and the Audience Choice Award went to the creative sandbox space flight game, Kerbal Space Program.

The Ambassador Award went to media critic Anita Sarkeesian, creator of Feminist Frequency, a video series that explores representations of women in game and pop culture narratives. Sarkeesian is the first woman to win the Ambassador Award. The Pioneer Award was given to Riot Games’ co-founders Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill, for creating the global hit League of Legends. Finally, this year's Lifetime Achievement award was given onstage to the “Father of the PlayStation,” Ken Kutaragi. PlayStation 4 lead architect Mark Cerny presented the award to Kutaragi.

The full list of winners can be found below:

Game of the Year: The Last of Us from Naughty Dog

Ambassador Award: Anita Sarkeesian

Best Narrative: The Last of Us from Naughty Dog

Best Visual Art: BioShock Infinite from Irrational Games

Best Technology: Grand Theft Auto V from Rockstar Games

Best Game Design: The Last of Us from Naughty Dog

Best Handheld/Mobile Game: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds from Nintendo

Best Audio: BioShock Infinite from Irrational Games

Pioneer Award: Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill of Riot Games

Best Debut: The Fullbright Company for Gone Home

Innovation Award: Papers, Please by Lucas Pope

Audience Choice Award: Kerbal Space Program by Squad

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ken Kutaragi

Best Downloadable Game: Papers, Please by Lucas Pope

Congratulations of all of this year's winners. The awards are particularly special because they are selected by the game developers' peers.

Source: Gamasutra


Re: 'Last of Us' and 'Papers, Please' Win Big at GDC Awards

Truth be told the whole investing in the Season Pass to get mulitplayer online content and one story content about a story that has already been told really has forced me to decide not to be tricked into season passes anymore and left a bad taste in my month after playing a wonderful game.
Forgot your password?
Username :
Password :


Best decade for video games?:

Be Heard - Contact Your Politician