EFF Pioneer Awards Honor U.S. Rep. Zoe Lofgren, Trevor Paglen, and Frank La Rue

The Electronic Frontier Foundation will honor former U.N. Special Rapporteur Frank La Rue, U.S. Rep. Zoe Lofgren, and artist Trevor Paglen during its annual EFF Pioneer Awards in San Francisco. The award ceremony will be held the evening of October 2 at the Lodge at the Regency Center in San Francisco. Keynote speakers will be Jacques Servin and Igor Vamos, better known as the Yes Men, who are known for their elaborate parodies and impersonations to fight government and corporate malfeasance

"Each of our Pioneer Award winners has helped the world understand how technology and civil liberties are interwoven into our lives, and each is still working to protect our freedom and fight abuses," EFF Executive Director Shari Steele said. "We are so proud to be able to present them with this year's Pioneer Awards."

Frank La Rue is the former U.N. Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression. He is being honored for speaking out about widespread state surveillance and arguing for privacy as an essential requirement for true freedom of expression. Rep. Zoe Lofgren is being honored for fighting against the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA), the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, supporting phone unlocking and jailbreaking, and pushing to fix Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, the law used to unfairly prosecute Aaron Swartz.

Finally, Trevor Paglen is an artist whose work uses science, journalism, and other disciplines in an attempt to "see" the historical moment we live in. Paglen is also the author of five books, including Torture Taxi, an early look at the CIA's extraordinary rendition program.

Tickets to the Pioneer Awards are $65 for EFF members and $75 for non-members. You can learn more here.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditEmail this to someone